Carole Alkabes puts tattoo artists in the spotlight through her lens

"When I photograph tattooed people, I have the impression of looking through a keyhole like a voyeur, diving into the intimate world of tattoo enthusiasts. A psychological and anthropological journey highlighting the diversity and singularity at the heart of each individual. "comments the photographer Carole Alkabes.

This is unusual. Usually, it is the tattooed people who are highlighted. Driven by his anti-conformist spirit, Bomberg takes the opposite approach, and chooses to highlight the other side. In a space of trust, the tattoo artists reveal their intimacy, their personality, their creativity with the complicity of the photographer Carole Alkabès.

A different, singular subject. The Swiss photographer works in the world of tattooing throughout Europe. She looks at the indelible language of art engraved in the skin. An artistic look at bodies. And this time, on those who master all the lines, the shapes, the roughness, and shape the bodies of others. A look that captures our time, and is part of an ongoing work focused on the "aficionados" of tattooing. Like Bomberg.

Carole Alkabes

Carole Alkabes met en lumière les tatoueurs au travers de son objectif

« Lorsque que je photographie des personnes tatouées, j’ai l’impression de regarder à travers le trou d’une serrure tel un voyeur, plongeant dans le monde intime des passionnés du tatouage. Un voyage psychologique et anthropologique mettant en exergue la diversité et la singularité au coeur même de chaque individu. » commente la photographe Carole Alkabes.

C’est inhabituel. En général, ce sont les personnes tatouées qui sont mises en lumière. Animé de son esprit anti-conformiste, Bomberg prend le contre-pied, et choisit de mettre en lumière l’autre côté. Dans un espace de confiance, les artistes tatoueurs dévoilent leur intime, leur personnalité, leur créativité avec la complicité de la photographe Carole Alkabès.

Sujet différent, singulier. La photographe suisse travaille dans le monde du tatouage partout en Europe. Elle pose un regard sur le langage indélébile de l'art gravé dans la peau. Un regard artistique sur les corps. Et cette fois-ci, sur ceux qui en maitrisent toutes les lignes, les formes, les aspérités, et façonnent les corps des autres. Un regard qui capture notre époque, et fait partie d’un travail en continu centré sur les « aficionados » du tatouage. Comme Bomberg.